Budgetary Power

It has been via the budget that the European Parliament has progressively won a certain number of major competences.

Hence in 1970, the le Luxembourg Treaty gave the European Parliament the power to amend the budget. It introduced the system of “own resources”: the European Communities were to receive a share of customs duties, VAT and agricultural taxes from the Member States.
In 1975, the Brussels Treatygranted the European Parliament the right to adopt the European budget definitively ; it also strengthened its power to amend by establishing the distinction between «  compulsory expenditure and non-compulsory expenditure.” .
Since 2009 and the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty, this distinction into two categories has been abolished, which strengthens the European Parliament’s budgetary power.

Adoption of the Budget

The European Parliament shares the budgetary power with the Council of Ministers these two institutions comprise the European Union’s “budgetary authority“. They decide what the European Union will spend for the year. These have to be established within the limits established by the ” multiannual financial perspective “, or the “pluriannual financial framework”; this is established for 7 years via an inter-institutional agreement. Parliament is not however able to intervene with regard to the total amount contained within this financial framework.
In 2014, European Union’s budget  totals 135.50 billion euro in payment appropriations and 142. 64 billion euro in commitment appropriations, which is the equivalent to a decrease of 6.2% in comparison with 2013.

After six months of intense negotiation the Parliament adopted the long term EU budget on 19th November 2013 for the period 2014-2020.
The European Parliament and the Council of Ministers have to adopt a preliminary draft budget established by the European Commission. The special legislative procedure in force now finds its source in the ordinary legislative procedure and provides almost equal power to the Parliament but it does oblige it however to adhere to great internal consensus. The procedure is restricted to one reading per institution and the timetable is tight. A conciliation committee is convened if an agreement is not reached.
The European Parliament does not have the competence to set the global volume of the community budget.
The  president of European Parliament finalises the procedure by confirming that the budget has finally been adopted.
→ For more information on the community budget 2013, click here

→ For more information on the distribution of community budget financing per type of revenue in 2013, click here

→ For more information on the Breakdown of the budget into main sectors in 2013, click here

Budgetary Control

By way of its Committee on Budgetary control (« Cocobu »), the European Parliament controls how the European Commission uses community funds.
At the end of each budgetary year (1st January to 31st December each year), the European Commission presents a report on how it has used community funds to the European Parliament. The European Parliament then decides on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers to grant, to adjourn or to refuse the Commission the “budgetary discharge” for its execution of the community budget. This procedure enables the completion of the budgetary year.
It is the threat of not granting the discharge in 1999 because of a lack of transparency in the Commission’s management that initiated the process whereby Jacques Santer’s Commission resigned collectively.

Le pouvoir budgétaire

C’est par la voie budgétaire que le Parlement européen a progressivement conquis un certain nombre de compétences importantes.

Ainsi, en 1970, le traité de Luxembourg octroie au Parlement européen un pouvoir d’amendement du budget. Il instaure par ailleurs le système des « ressources propres » : les Communautés européennes vont percevoir une partie des droits de douane, de la TVA et des prélèvements agricoles des Etats membres.

En 1975, le traité de Bruxelles confère au Parlement européen le droit d’adopter définitivement le budget européen ; il renforce également son pouvoir d’amendement en établissant une distinction entre les dépenses « obligatoires » et « non obligatoires ».

Depuis 2009 et l’entrée en vigueur du traité de Lisbonne, cette distinction entre les deux catégories de dépense est supprimée, ce qui renforce le pouvoir budgétaire du Parlement européen.

Adoption du budget

Le Parlement européen partage le pouvoir budgétaire avec le Conseil : ces deux institutions constituent « l’autorité budgétaire » de l’Union européenne. Elles déterminent les dépenses de l’Union européenne pour une année. Celles-ci doivent s’inscrire dans les limites fixées par les « perspectives financières pluriannuelles », ou « cadre financier pluriannuel », déterminées pour 7 ans par un accord interinstitutionnel. Le Parlement n’est toutefois pas en mesure d’intervenir sur le montant total de ce cadre financier.

En 2014, le budget de l’Union européenne s’élève à 135,50 milliards d’euros en paiement et 142,64 milliards d’euros en crédits d’engagement, ce qui correspond à une baisse de 6,2% par rapport à 2013.

Après six mois d’intenses négociations, le 19 novembre 2013, le Parlement a adopté le budget à long terme de l’UE pour la période 2014-2020.

Le Parlement européen et le Conseil doivent adopter l’avant-projet de budget établi par la Commission européenne. La procédure législative spéciale en vigueur s’inspire de la procédure législative ordinaire et donne donc un pouvoir sensiblement égal au Parlement, en l’obligeant néanmoins à un fort consensus politique interne. La procédure est limitée à une seule lecture par institution et le calendrier est resserré. Un comité de conciliation est convoqué si un accord n’est pas trouvé.

Le Parlement européen ne dispose pas de compétences pour fixer le volume global du budget communautaire.

Le président du Parlement européen clôt la procédure en constatant que le budget est définitivement adopté.
→ Pour plus d’informations sur le budget communautaire 2013, cliquez ici

→ Pour plus d’informations sur la répartition du financement du budget communautaire par type de recettes en 2013, cliquez ici

→ Pour plus d’informations sur la décomposition du budget par principaux postes en 2013, cliquez ici

Contrôle budgétaire

Par le biais de sa commission du contrôle budgétaire (« Cocobu »), le Parlement européen contrôle l’utilisation des fonds communautaires par la Commission européenne.
A la fin de chaque exercice budgétaire (1er janvier au 31 décembre de chaque année), la Commission européenne présente au Parlement européen un rapport sur l’utilisation des fonds communautaires. Le Parlement européen décide alors, sur recommandation du Conseil des ministres, de l’octroi, de l’ajournement ou du refus de la « décharge budgétaire » (sorte de quitus) à la Commission pour son exécution du budget communautaire. Cette procédure permet de mettre fin à l’exercice budgétaire.
C’est la menace de ne pas voter l’octroi de la décharge en 1999, liée à l’insuffisante transparence dans la gestion de la Commission, qui a enclenché le processus de démission collective de la Commission européenne présidée par Jacques Santer.