Delegation Composition

The composition of the delegations reponsible for maintaining and developing the European Parliament’s international contacts was decided during meetings that lasted from 13th-16th October. Consult the list of MEPs who will be taking part in these delegations

Commissioners’ Hearings

From 29th September to 20th October the 27 Commissioners designate were interviewed by the competent Parliamentary committees. Consult the hearings of each commissioner

Parliament elects Jean-Claude Juncker as Commission President

Parliament elects Jean-Claude Juncker as Commission President on July 15th 2014 in a secret ballot. 422 members voted in favour, 250 against, 47 abstained. The total number of votes cast was 729, 10 of which were non valid. The minimum number of votes required was 376. The new European Commission will take office on November 1st 2014 for a five year term. For the first time in the history of the European Union, the European Parliament elected – and not merely approved – the President of the European Commission following a proposal by the European Council, according to the rules laid down in the Lisbon Treaty (December 2009).

Read more

New Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the Parliamentary Committees

After the election of the President, 14 Vice-Presidents and 5 questeurs at the European Parliament in Strasbourg on 1st and 2nd July last the Parliamentary Committees met on 7th July to elect their Chairs and Vice-Chairs for a period of two and a half years.

Read more

Martin Schulz re-elected at the head of the European Parliament

On 1st July 2014, Martin Schulz president of the Group of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament was re-elected as President of the European Parliament, with 409 votes out of 612. He received support from the European People’s Party and the Liberals, who wanted to counter Eurosceptics. Thus in two years and a half, a member of the center-right will take over him. Conservatives and reformists, the European United Left and the Greens had also presented a candidate.

Read more

Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy, the new name of the parliamentary group of Nigel Farage

Ukip leader Nigel Farage announced on 24th of June a name change of its group in the European Parliament, Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy will be the new name. Nigel Farage and Giuseppe Grillo in Italy, leader of the Movement 5 stars, formed a Eurosceptic alliance in Parliament earlier in June. In the new Parliament, UKIP will have 24 seats and the Movement 5 star has 17 seats.

Austrian MEP Ulrike Lunacek candidate of the Greens/EFA for the Presidency of the European Parliament

On June 24th, the European Parliament group of the Greens/EFA elected unanimously the Austrian MEP Ulrike Lunacek as their candidate for the presidency of the European Parliament. In her speech, Ulrike Lunacek underlined that her candidacy was motivated by the “by the shadowy back room dealings by national governments on the top posts in the EU institutions” and was as such an alternative to the ‘grand coalition’ of the EPP and S&D groups.

Read more

The National Front fails to create a new group in the European Parliament

The parties had until 23th of June to register as a parliamentary group for the first session of the new Parliament, scheduled for the 1st of July. Following a European vote marked by a rise of eurosceptics in many European countries, their political leaders did not succeed to create a new political group. Vice-president of the National Front, Florian Philippot has confirmed that the National Front has failed to gather enough eurosceptic parties from different countries to form a new political group.

Read more

The GUE/NGL group seeks equal representation of men and women within its members

The GUE/NGL group in the European Parliament has published the full list of its members for the coming 2014-2019 Parliament. It claims 52 parliamentarians, meaning 17 more than in the previous term. It has also announced the equal representation of men and women within its group, with 26 female MEPs et 26 male MEPs. With 52 deputies, the GUE/NGL group is the fifth one in terms of size in the European Parliament, before the Greens and after the ALDE.

The group’s release

Nigel Farage has completed the formation of his group

Nigel Farage, the leader of the British UKIP and chairman of the EFD group in the European Parliament has announced that his group was ready to be formally created. Due to the defection of a French MEP from the Front National (Joëlle Bergeron), Nigel Farage’s group has indeed managed to reach the threshold of representing 7 member States. It now gathers 48 parliamentarians from just 7 member States.

To find out more: Euractiv’s article on the topic