front page

Iratxe Garcia elected as chairperson of the S&D Group

On 18th June, MEP Iratxe Garcia was elected as chair of the Socialists and Democrats group (S&D), which is the second largest in the European Parliament, with 153 seats. She no longer had any rival since the group’s former chairperson, Udo Bullmann from Germany, had withdrawn his candidacy the previous day.  I. Garcia, a member […]

Andrus Ansip leaves the Commission to become an MEP

Andrus Ansip, vice-president of the European Commission and commissioner for the digital single market, announced on 17th June that he will leave his job at the Commission on 1st July to sit in the European Parliament. A. Ansip was elected as an MEP in Estonia at the May elections, on the liberal oriented Reform Party […]

Three Catalan separatists banned from sitting in the European Parliament

On 17th June the Spanish electoral commission declared vacant the seats at the European Parliament won by Catalan separatists Oriol Junqueras, Carles Puigdemont and Toni Comín, due to their failure to take the oath that is obligatory in order to be able to sit. On 14th June the Spanish Supreme Court had refused to release […]

The ENF group takes the name “Identity and Democracy”

The Europe of Nations and Freedom (ENF) group, which comprises the far-right parties at the European Parliament, has been renamed “Identity and Democracy” and will include 73 MEPs. From 9 different countries, these MEPs are mainly affiliated to far-right parties in Italy and France: The League (28 MEPs) and the National Rally (22 MEPs). The […]

The ALDE group renamed “Renew Europe”

The liberals group at the European Parliament, previously known as the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) chose a new name for itself on 12th June: “Renew Europe”, a title that gets close to the idea of “European Renaissance” put forward by French President Emmanuel Macron. The name change was driven by French […]

Ska Keller and Philippe Lamberts re-elected as co-presidents of the Greens/EFA group  

On 12th June, Ska Keller from Germany and Philippe Lamberts from Belgium were re-elected as co-presidents of the Greens/EFA group, which has now become the fourth largest group at the European Parliament, with 75 MEPs. Ska Keller was the Greens/EFA candidate for presidency of the European Commission during the European elections campaign. Alyn Smith from […]

Valdis Dombrovskis remains as European commission and will not sit in Parliament

Valdis Dombrovsksis, Commission Vice-President for the euro and social dialogue, announced on 11th June that he had been chosen by the Latvian government for be the member for his country in the next European Commission. The decision was taken by the coalition in power in Latvia, to which V. Dombrovsksis’ party New Unity (Jaunā Vienotība) […]

Manfred Weber re-elected President of the EPP group

On 5th June Manfred Weber was re-elected President of the European People’s Party (EPP), which is the biggest party in the new European Parliament. He won 156 of the 160 votes cast by the members of the group present. Mr. Weber, a member of the CSU, the Bavarian branch of the German Christian Democrats, is […]

All the results and the new MEPs

After the European elections on 23rd-26th May, find all the results in the 28 Union countries and the names of the 751 MEPs who will sit in Parliament until 204, by navigating on our interactive map.  Also read our analysis of the elections: “European Parliament: a new balance – but not Eurosceptic”

Information & mobilisation

This time I’m voting Launched by the European Parliament in 24 languages the impartial platform aims to support more than 150,000 volunteers who have pledged in the Member States to encourage citizens to vote in the European elections, to mobilise their families, friends and communities.   Rock the Eurovote 2019 Launched by the association Europeans […]

Composition of the European Parliament and distribution of seats

Click on the country to consult all the latest local information.

Interactive Map

Click on the country of your choice to consult the corresponding information sheet.

Provisional distribution of seats (pending the formation of the groups)
European People’s Party (EPP)
Socialists & Democrats (S&D)
European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR)
Alliance of Democrats and Liberals for Europe (ALDE)
Greens/European Free Alliance (Greens/EFA)
United European Left/Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL)
Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFDD)
Europe of Nations and Freedom (ENF)
Non affiliated (NI)


What is the European Parliament?

The European Parliament is an institution of the European Union which is specific in two ways:

c’est la seule institution dont les membres sont élus au suffrage universel direct pour un mandat de 5 ans
c’est la seule institution dont les pouvoirs se sont étendus de manière continue au fil des traités.
Find out everything there is to know about THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT