The Political Groups

As in the national parliaments the MEPs sit in political groups according to their political leaning.

MEPs are not affiliated to a European political party; it is their national party which is linked to a European political party.


The Chairs of the groups since January 2017 are:


Group European People’s Party (EPP) : Manfred Weber, Germany.
Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats at the European Parliament (S&D) : Udo Bullmann, Germany
Group of European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) : Syed Kamall, UK, Ryszard Legutko, Poland.
Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) : Guy Verhofstadt, Belgium.
Confederal Group of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL) : Gabi Zimmer, Germany.
Group of Greens/European Free Alliance (Greens/EFA) : Franziska Keller, Germany & Philippe Lamberts, Belgium.
Group Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFDD) : Nigel Farage, UK
Group of Europe of Nations and Freedom (ENF) : Nicolas Bay, France, Marcel de Graaff, The Netherlands.